About Us

The Feilding Civic Centre has a proud and interesting history.

The centre was built in the mid 1950s and was the result of huge public involvement in fundraising where a queen carnival raised  £26,000 towards the cost. Volunteer labour from the community was used in the construction. The building is well designed for public functions and is owned by the Manawatu District Council for the benefit of the community of Feilding and Districts. Transfer of responsibility for the operation of the centre changed from the Manawatu District Council to the Feilding Civic Centre Trust in July 2004.

The centre has provided facilities for Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Indoor Bowls and Brass Band Concerts since inception and, in some cases, with the same clubs/organisations. The centre has been the home of the Feilding Craft Markets for the last 20 years and also hosts the Feilding Excellence in Business Awards, Feilding High School Wearable Arts show, Manawatu Aviary Association annual bird sale, Carols by Candlelight, various theatre productions, concerts, push play aerobics and much more. The trust board is keen to carry on the tradition of the Civic Centre being the focal point for community events and to make improvements so that it will ensure the needs of the community continue to be met.



      Trust Information

      Nature of Business:    Community Venue Management
      Physical Address:       84 Aorangi Street, Feilding, 4702
      Postal Address:          P O Box 442, Feilding, 4740
      Settlors:                      Manawatu District Council
      Date Created:             8th July 2004


      Stuart Osborne (Chair)

      Allan Williams (Deputy Chair)               

      Lindsay Taylor                                                   

      Tony Chapman                                                       

      John Gregory                                                               

      Kristi Atkins                                                             

      Johanna Wood                                                         

      Aly Thompson                                                             

      Chris Wilson     

      David Young (Secretary/Treasurer)
      Carla Bennett (Manager)

      Cotton Kelly Audit & Assurance (Auditors)
      ANZ (Bankers)
      John Key (Solicitors)
      CC11999 (Charities Register Number)